Pokémon Direct Takes Place Tomorrow

2017-pokemon-direct-logo

Nintendo has announced that a Pokémon Direct will take place tomorrow, on Tuesday 6th June.

The special eight-minute presentation promises to “share some exciting news about the Pokémon series,” and will be broadcast worldwide at the below times:

7am PT
10am ET
3pm BST
4pm CEST

Many will be hoping that the Pokémon Direct will reveal the first news on any games destined for Nintendo Switch, after a persistent rumour that Pokémon Stars was in development for the console.

The Pokémon Company president and CEO Tsunekazu Ishihara had once shared vague thoughts on the brand’s future on Nintendo Switch, stating:

“Until now we’ve developed Pokémon exclusively for portable games consoles. With no connection to home-play, a pro for portable consoles has been trading and battling with friends on the go.

“The [Nintendo] Switch, however, being a portable home console, has some different qualities compared to portables. The screen is bigger, the specs are higher.

“Because of that, if we are to release Pokémon on the Switch, we cannot go about software the way we have been so far. Apart from mainline Pokémon games, we also develop spin-off titles like Pokkén Tournament, a fighting game, and Mystery Dungeon, a dungeon crawler.

“From among those titles, I am thinking it is a good idea to support, in turn, the ones that make sense for the hardware. My apologies but at this time, however, I am not in a position to announce anything specific.”

Written by
After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.