Yooka-Laylee Heads To Nintendo Switch After Wii U Cancellation

yooka-laylee-image

Playtonic Games has announced that Yooka-Laylee is no longer in development for Wii U, with the version cancelled after the developer was unable to overcome “unforeseen technical issues.”

The developer has taken the time “to explore every possible avenue,” and are now working closely with Nintendo to bring their Banjo-Kazooie spiritual successor to Nintendo Switch.

Those that backed the Kickstarter project and chose Wii U as their selected platform can either switch to another, request a refund, or opt to wait until Playtonic share an update on their progress with the Nintendo Switch version.

“Despite our best efforts and exploring every possible avenue over, we’ve unfortunately encountered unforeseen technical issues that mean it will be impossible for us to release the game on Wii U as initially planned,” Playtonic Games confirmed in a FAQ.

“We can however confirm the exciting news that we are now working very closely with Nintendo to look to bring Yooka-Laylee to the upcoming Nintendo Switch. We’re looking forward to exploring the opportunity and will have more details to share early next year.”

That sounds like they will share news at the Nintendo Switch Presentation 2017, which will take place at 8pm PT (11pm ET) on Thursday 12th January or 4am GMT (5am CET) on Friday 13th January.

Written by
After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.