Splatoon 2 Ranked Battle Modes Detailed

Splatoon 2 Image

With the 2017 Splatoon 2 World Inkling Invitational taking place next week, Nintendo has detailed the ink-based shooter’s Ranked Battle modes.

That sees the return of Splat Zones, Tower Control and Rainmaker as seen in Splatoon, although there have been some changes to improve the gameplay experience – such as a clearer indication about zones being taken over.

Splat Zones

Splat Zones is a mode in which teams compete for control of areas known as, you guessed it… Splat Zones. If the other team gains control of a zone, cover it in your team’s ink to steal it back! While the rules haven’t changed from the original Splatoon game, the zone coverage status in the middle of the UI now provides more real-time updates.

Tower Control

In Tower Control mode, teams battle to move a tower deep into enemy territory. As the tower moves along its set path, it passes through a number of checkpoints and–this is key–stops at each checkpoint for a bit before moving on. We’ve deduced that once a team clears a checkpoint, they’ll be able to pass through it again without stopping. Teamwork is key to victory—make no mistake about it!


In Rainmaker, opposing teams battle for control of the Rainmaker, a powerful weapon lying in the centre of the stage. Whichever team succeeds in carrying the Rainmaker to the pedestal located in the opposing team’s base will taste the sweet nectar of victory. If you charge the Rainmaker up all the way, the shots it fires will explode when they reach their target! In Rainmaker, the best defence is a good offence, so don’t hold back!

Splatoon 2 will release exclusively for Nintendo Switch worldwide on July 21st.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *