Nintendo Versus Twitter Account Opens

arms-master-mummy-screenshot

Nintendo of America has opened a new Nintendo Versus Twitter account, that will specifically share updates relating to Nintendo competitive events.

It arrives in time for E3 2017 this week, where Nintendo will host the 2017 Splatoon 2 World Inkling Invitational, 2017 ARMS Open Invitational, and 2017 Pokken Tournament DX Invitational.

As a reminder, here is the scheduled events that Nintendo has planned for the week:

2017 SPLATOON 2 WORLD INKLING INVITATIONAL

Date: Tuesday 13th June
Time: 2.30pm PT / 5.30pm ET / 22:30 BST

Details: For the first time ever, competitors from four different global regions will compete for world dominance in Splatoon 2. The four four-person teams – from the United States, Japan, Europe, and from Australia/New Zealand – defeated their local rivals and gained the chance to take on competitors at E3.

Format: Teams will battle in a round-robin Turf War tournament that will decide seeding for the next round. All teams will play one another and get a chance to scope out their opponents’ strengths and weaknesses. In the next round, teams will battle in the game’s Ranked Battle modes. The semi-final stage will be a best-of-five battle, while the championship will be best-of-seven.

Prize: The winning team will win global bragging rights and a special Splatoon 2 trophy engraved with their names.

Casters: Jordan Kent, Ashley Esqueda, and Nintendo of America’s Eric Smith

POKKÉN TOURNAMENT DX INVITATIONAL

Date: Wednesday 14th June
Time: 10.30am PT / 1.30pm ET / 18:30 BST

Competitors: Eight YouTube and Twitch stars

Format: Crew battle with four teams and two players per team. Random draft order. The first person in each crew must choose one of the new characters, the other person can choose one of the original characters.

Prize: Both winners will each receive a Pokkén Tournament DX art piece signed by Tsunekazu Ishihara, president and CEO of The Pokémon Company, and members of the development team.

Casters: D1 and VikkiKitty

2017 ARMS OPEN INVITATIONAL

Date: Wednesday 14th June
Time: 3.30pm PT / 6.30pm ET / 23:30 BST

Competitors: Four professional competitive fighting game players (Alex Valle, Kelsy “SuperGirlKels” Medeiros, Daniel “Tafokints” Lee, and Marie-Laure “Kayane” Norindr) will take on four E3 attendees who rise to the top by competing in Nintendo’s booth.

Format: Single elimination

Prize: The coveted 2017 ARMS Open Invitational Belt

Casters: D1 and VikkiKitty

NINTENDO TREEHOUSE: LIVE AT E3

What: Members of Nintendo’s Treehouse will once again delve into the details of the Nintendo Switch console and games for the Nintendo 3DS family of systems, including Super Mario Odyssey and Pokkén Tournament DX. Viewers will get an in-depth look at gameplay and hear behind-the-scenes details about Nintendo’s line-up for E3.

When: On Tuesday 13th June, the show starts right after the Nintendo Spotlight: E3 2017 presentation at approximately 18:30 CEST. On Wednesday 14th and Thursday 15th June, the show starts about 19:00 CEST.

Who: Treehouse members, as well as developers and other game experts, including Tsunekazu Ishihara, president and CEO of The Pokémon Company. Mr Ishihara and various developers will talk about the upcoming Pokkén Tournament DX game for Nintendo Switch.

Written by
After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.