N-ZAP ’85 and Port Mackerel lead Splatoon’s first post-launch content

We knew that Nintendo were to build on the ink-tastic Splatoon with expansive free post-launch content, but we weren’t entirely sure how soon they had planned to begin rolling it out.

Well, in their surprise Nintendo Direct Micro, we learned that has already been kicked into gear. As of 7pm PT on Monday 1st June (3am BST / 4am CEST / 12pm AEST on Tuesday 2nd June), players can now take aim with the rapid-fire N-ZAP ’85 weapon and sink into ink in a brand new stage called Port Mackerel.

Eager Inklings have been filling up the Ranked Splatometer over the weekend, which will see Splatoon’s Ranked Battle mode become available to those over level 10 at the same time.

Nintendo have promised that Splatoon will be treated to new content “every few weeks,” with the Wii U exclusive’s Official Game Guide outlining the majority of what we can initially expect.

Written by
After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.