Scroll to read more

The Pokémon Company and Game Freak have revealed that once Pokémon Sword and Pokémon Shield have released, there will be more than 1,000 Pokémon that have been created for the series.

This comment came in an interview with Weekly Famitsu magazine, with game director Junichi Masuda explaining that such number includes alternate forms.

At this point in time we know about 12 new Pokémon that will appear in the upcoming Nintendo Switch exclusives: Grookey, Scorbunny, Sobble, Wooloo, Gossifleur, Eldegoss, Corviknight, Drednaw, Zacian, Zamazenta, Yamper and Impidimp.

In Pokémon Sword and Pokémon Shield, you will choose between three starter Pokémon – Grookey, Scorbunny, and Sobble – before having the chance to explore the Galar region – with its idyllic countryside, contemporary cities, thick forests, and craggy, snow-covered mountains. Challenging the Gyms in the region, you will once again look to become Champion.

Pokémon Sword and Pokémon Shield will release exclusively for Nintendo Switch worldwide on November 15th.

Alex Seedhouse

Alex Seedhouse

After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.