The Legend Of Zelda: Breath Of The Wild Named Game Of The Year At 2018 Game Developers Choice Awards

Zelda Dog Breath of the Wild Screenshot

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild was the big winner at the 2018 Game Developers Choice Awards, seeing Link’s open-air adventure impressing enough to scoop up awards in four categories.

Those were the coveted Game of the Year, Best Audio, and Best Design, awarded in recognition for the Nintendo Switch and Wii U exclusive’s expansive sound and deep, open-ended gameplay.

Studio MDHR picked up Best Debut for their work on Cuphead which also won Best Visual Art, puzzler Gorogoa secured awards in the Best Mobile Game and Innovation Award categories, while What Remains of Edith Finch, Horizon Zero Dawn, Superhot VR, and NieR: Automata each won one award.

Double Fine and LucasArts developer Tim Schafer was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Rami Ismail received the Ambassador Award.

“Every year sees countless amazing games worthy of recognition, but this year, in particular, has seen some of the strongest titles to arrive this generation. The GDCAs give us an opportunity to reflect on and honour the games that provided us with endless joy,” shared Game Developers Conference general manager Katie Stern.

“The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild helped us rediscover a childlike sense of adventure and discovery. Titles like Gorogoa and What Remains of Edith Finch offered us distinct creative visions that can only be experienced in games, and games like Cuphead and Horizon Zero Dawn crafted worlds we could lose ourselves in. Congratulations to all of tonight’s nominees and winners and thank you for your creativity and dedication.”

The Game Developers Choice Awards honour the very best games of the year, and was created for and voted on by developers. Winners are selected by the Game Developers Choice Awards-specific International Choice Awards Network (ICAN), which is an invitation-only group comprised of leading game creators from all parts of the industry.

The 2018 Game Developers Choice Awards winners are:

Best Audio
The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Nintendo)

Best Debut
Studio MDHR (Cuphead)

Best Design
The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Nintendo)

Best Mobile Game
Gorogoa (Jason Roberts/Buried Signal)

Innovation Award
Gorogoa (Jason Roberts/Buried Signal)

Best Narrative
What Remains of Edith Finch (Giant Sparrow)

Best Technology
Horizon Zero Dawn (Guerrilla Games)

Best Visual Art
Cuphead (Studio MDHR)

Best VR/AR Game

Audience Award
NieR:Automata (PlatinumGames)

Game of the Year
The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Nintendo)

Ambassador Award
Rami Ismail

Lifetime Achievement Award
Tim Schafer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *