Splatoon’s Ranked Battle expands with new Tower Control mode

splatoon-tower-control

Splatoon‘s Ranked Battle scene won’t solely be comprised of Splat Zones from tomorrow, with Nintendo having confirmed that they will add a new Tower Control mode.

This will see teams compete to retain control of a tower placed in the middle of the map, riding it along a set path toward the opposing side’s goal. You seize control when a player jumps onto the tower, which is sure to present a rather frantic addition to the Wii U exclusive.

“Hop aboard the tower placed in the middle of the map, and ride it to your opponent’s goal. stay sharp — you’ll have to protect whoever’s riding the tower from enemy attacks!” Nintendo’s Squid Research Lab shares.

“Once someone jumps onto the tower, it starts moving along a set path toward the other team’s goal. If the tower doesn’t arrive at either goal before time runs out, the team that’s moved it closest toward their opponent’s goal wins. Ride the tower all the way into the other team’s goal though, and you’ll get a decisive knockout victory.”

As with other content rollouts for the Wii U exclusive, this will be live at 7pm PT (10pm ET) on Wednesday 1st July. Which, for others around the world will be at 3am BST / 4am CEST / 12pm AEST on Thursday 2nd July.

Written by
After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.