Pokémon Black & White starters receive English names

Nintendo Switch Logo

Having been teased for a reveal today, Nintendo have lifted the lid on the first information regarding the English versions of Pokémon Black and White; that of the names of the three starter Pokémon that players will initially be able to choose from when they start their adventure.

Whilst your choice will still remain to be between Grass, Fire and Water types, today has brought the English names of the three additions to the series, which are as follows:
* Snivy (Grass-type),
* Tepig (Fire-type),
* Oshawott (Water-type).

The Japanese names for the three Pokémon were Tsutarja, Pokabu and Mijumaru respectively.

Further to this the region that you will be exploring has been renamed from the Japanese version, now being known as the Unova region rather than the Isshu region. The two legendary Pokémon have also been named as Dragon-Fire type Reshiram and Dragon-Electric type Zekrom. All details coming from a sizeable update to the official website for the titles which you can visit here.

Pokémon Black and White are due to release exclusively for Nintendo DS in Spring 2011 across the US and Europe.

1 comment
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Post

Nintendo set to exhibit at 2011 International CES

Next Post

Nintendo Download List: November 22nd (North America)

Related Posts