Nintendo unveil The Legend of Zelda timeline

Whilst continually regarding it as a closely guarded secret, Nintendo have seemingly at last unveiled the timeline for The Legend of Zelda series.

Within a book titled ‘Hyrule Historia’, released to coincide with the series’ 25th anniversary celebrations, the company has detailed that the timeline begins singularly before diverging into three separate paths following the events of Ocarina of Time.

Here, each time period results in a different occurrence for Link – if he defeats Ganon and continues his childhood path the story continues with Majora’s Mask, whereas if the Adult Link path continues the next game within the narrative is The Wind Waker.

According to the book, there is also a path based upon a situation in which Link failed to defeat Ganon during Ocarina of Time, that continues with A Link To The Past.

Full details are as follows:

Main Timeline
1. Skyward Sword
2. Minish Cap
3. Four Swords
4. Ocarina Of Time

Split 1: Link defeats Ganon – Childhood Link
1.) Majora’s Mask
2.) Twilight Princess
3.) Four Swords Adventures

Split 2: Link defeats Ganon – Adult Link
1.) The Wind Waker
2.) Phantom Hourglass
3.) Spirit Tracks

Split 3: Link fails to defeat Ganon during Ocarina Of Time
1.) A Link To The Past
2.) Oracles / Seasons
3.) Link’s Awakening
4.) The Legend Of Zelda
5.) The Legend Of Zelda II

[Kotaku via Official Nintendo Magazine]

Alex Seedhouse
After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!