Nintendo eShop opens in remaining European countries on December 10th

Those that look forward to the Nintendo eShop update each week can be forgiven in forgetting that the company’s digital store still isn’t available in certain European countries.

Up until now, it has only been available in Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Russia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

That is soon set to change, with Nintendo of Europe reportedly notifying publishers that the Nintendo eShop will become available in “all remaining EU countries” from 10th December 2015.

That will see it open to Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia, with content available to purchase in Euro and the store to only carry English listings.

It’s certainly positive news, and has come at a time of transition when Nintendo are looking to lay out their plans for NX – their next “dedicated game platform” – in 2016.

[Thanks UltimatePisman via GoNintendo]

Written by
After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.