Night In The Woods Wins The 2018 Independent Games Festival Grand Prize

Night in the Woods Main Header

Infinite Fall has won the Seumas McNally Grand Prize at the 2018 Independent Games Festival for their work on Night in the Woods, the developer’s beloved adventure game that focuses on exploration, story and character development. It also received the Excellence in Narrative award, which meant that the developer received $33,000 for such recognition.

Puzzler Baba Is You from developer Hempuli won Excellence in Design and Best Student Game, while the Nuovo Award, for a game that made the jurors “think differently about games as a medium,” went to developer Bennett Foddy for Getting Over It with Bennett Foddy, a merciless climbing game that rewards players who can reach the top of the mountain.

And then the Audience Award, which is chosen from all Independent Games Festival finalists through a public online voting process, was given to Celeste from creator Matt Makes Games, which many will have had the chance to enjoy since it released on Nintendo Switch earlier this year.

The winners of the 2018 Independent Games Festival Awards are:

Excellence in Visual Art ($3,000)
Chuchel (Amanita Design)

Excellence in Audio ($3,000)
Uurnog Uurnlimited (Nifflas Games)

Excellence in Design ($3,000)
Baba Is You (Hempuli)

Excellence in Narrative ($3,000)
Night in the Woods (Infinite Fall)

Nuovo Award ($3,000)
Getting Over It with Bennett Foddy (Bennett Foddy)

Best Student Game ($3,000)
Baba Is You (Hempuli)

Audience Award ($3,000)
Celeste (Celeste Team)

ID@Xbox Gaming for Everyone Award

alt.ctrl.GDC Award ($3,000)
Puppet Pandemonium

Seumas McNally Grand Prize ($30,000)
Night in the Woods (Infinite Fall)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *