Scroll to read more

Capcom has announced that it will broadcast a Monster Hunter Digital Event on YouTube and Twitch this week, with the promise it will deliver “big news and reveals” about Monster Hunter Rise.

The presentation will air at 6am PST / 9am EST / 2pm GMT / 3pm CET later this week on Thursday 7th January 2021.

In this latest entry in the action role-playing series, you will set out on an adventure from the colourful Kamura Village which attracts visitors from around the world thanks to its “unique culture and innovative hunting technologies.”

After equipping your armour and selecting your weapon, all-new hunting grounds such as the ancient Shrine will offer “continuous gameplay” now that maps have no loading times meaning that as soon as your hunt begins without transitions between areas.

Monster Hunter Rise will introduce wire-based grappling actions that can be performed using the Wirebug while standing or in mid-air, allowing for more aerial maneuverability to your hunting strategies and attacks.

You will also have to confront Magnamalo, described as “a menacing new flagship monster that will present a formidable challenge to hunters of all skill levels.” There are also other new additions like the shape-shifting Aknosom, the amphibious Tetranadon and returning species from previous Monster Hunter games.

There will also be the chance to team up with new hunting partners called Palamutes, personalised and rideable Canyne companions that will provide a new set of attack options. The Felyne Palicoes will return as support characters for actions like healing, and, on solo hunts, both a Palamute and Palico can assist you.

Monster Hunter Rise will release exclusively for Nintendo Switch worldwide on 26th March 2021.

Author
Alex Seedhouse

Alex Seedhouse

After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.