Mario Kart TV Website Closing In April

mario-kart-8-blue-falcon-kart

Nintendo has announced that the Mario Kart TV website will be closed in April.

The website, which will be shut down at 11pm PT on Monday 4th April (7am GMT / 8am CET / 4pm AEST on Tuesday 5th April), was integrated with Miiverse, letting players view rankings and highlight reels from their Mario Kart 8 races.

While the website will close, players can still access the Mario Kart TV service within the Wii U exclusive, and can continue to upload videos to YouTube.

“The Mario Kart TV website, which lets you watch highlight videos posted from Mario Kart 8, will be closing down as of 11:00 PM PT on Monday, April 4th 2016,” Nintendo’s message reads. “We are very thankful to the many people who have used this website since it launched in 2014.”

“Even after the website shuts down, it will still be possible to watch Mario Kart TV and upload highlights from within Mario Kart 8 itself. Highlight videos uploaded to YouTube from the game will not be deleted after the website shuts down.”

Written by
After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.