GameStop’s Nintendo Switch Stock Allocation Is Worryingly Low

nintendo-switch-zelda-image

We had already heard warning signs that Nintendo Switch would only be available in “limited” quantities leading up to launch, but GameStop has been more transparent in helping customers secure the home gaming system.

Posters are being placed in the windows of each store that indicate how many units they expect to have available for pre-order, saving an unnecessary long cold night for those that choose to queue until they open.

Reddit user Vagar0 has shared that his local GameStop store in South Florida had shown that shown that they expected 23 Nintendo Switch consoles to pre-order, while GoNintendo while show another store that has been allocated 38 consoles.

The poster explains that the quantity shown is specific to that store and that customers will be required to place a $50 deposit to secure a Nintendo Switch if any remain in stock. The specialist retailer adds that games and accessories will also be available to pre-order at the same time, although these, we suspect, won’t be in such short supply.

The Nintendo Switch Presentation 2017 will shortly broadcast across North America at 8pm PT (11pm ET) on Thursday 12th January, or 4am GMT (5am CET) on Friday 13th January for those in Europe.

The live presentation will be streamed worldwide from Tokyo and promises to share “major details” about the home gaming system that will include the exact launch date and the game line-up that is currently in development.

After that, a Nintendo Treehouse Live With Nintendo Switch stream will take place on Friday 13th January at 6.30am PT (9.30am ET / 2.30pm GMT / 3.30pm CET), promising “an in-depth look” at games featured in the Nintendo Switch Presentation 2017.

Written by
After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.