19th DICE Awards Honour Satoru Iwata With Lifetime Achievement Award

The 19th Annual D.I.C.E. Awards will honour late Nintendo president Satoru Iwata as this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipient.

The special award is reserved for those “whose accomplishments span a broad range of disciplines over a lengthy career in the industry.”

Those that have received the award previously include former Nintendo of America chiefs Minoru Arakawa and Howard Lincoln, PlayStation creator Ken Kutaragi, ESA president Doug Lowenstein, and former Electronic Arts CCO Bing Gordon.

Metal Gear Solid creator Hideo Kojima will also be honoured as this year’s Hall of Fame recipient, which comes after a perplexing year in the way that Konami handled his departure.

Comedian Pete Holmes will host the awards ceremony, which will take place on Thursday 18th February at The Mandalay Bay Convention Center in Las Vegas.

Written by
After starting out with a Yellow Game Boy and a copy of Donkey Kong Land, Alex once hid in his room to play The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time one Christmas. Now he shares his thoughts on Nintendo Insider, keeping track of everything to do with Nintendo.

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.